Lets carve a tagua frog!

finished-frog-3 I selected a nut that had the general shape that I want. It also has a flat side which will serve as the base of  the carving.

Something to consider is that the light  colored bump on the bottom of the nut will always have a hole beneath it.

IMG_0266

I will start with the part of the carving that might cause the most problems. In this case it would be the long back legs.  I have also dealt with the problem of what to do about the hole.  We will just say that the frog is anatomically correct. IMG_0268If you find yourself slipping into a bit of a trance,  don’t panic, that is just one of the nice things about carving. tagua-frog-wip-4It is time to turn our attention to the eyes and face. This nut was shorter than I would have liked, so I have to turn his head down and away. Problem solving is a big part of carving.  Don’t concern yourself with details yet only the basic shape.tagua-frog-wipThere is a bit of a jump here.  Its hard to be in the carving trance  and still remember to take pictures.

The hard part is knowing when to quit. I quit!If he looks sad it's because he knows that he will never make it back to the rain forest.

If he looks sad, it’s because he knows that he will never make it back to his home, in the rain forest.
2 Responses to “Lets carve a tagua frog!”


  1. 1 dorisfiebig July 2, 2009 at 12:37 am

    hi matthew, i just found your blog, and enjoyed reading it and looking the marvelous small tagua nut carvings you do. wonderful work. you said “If you find yourself slipping into a bit of a trance, don’t panic, that is just one of the nice things about carving. ” yes, i can so agree ! also you said you will talk ybout your carving philosopy, i am looking forward to read that…

    • 2 matthewgrimes July 2, 2009 at 1:21 am

      Thank you for taking an interest in my humble little blog, Doris. I am new to blogging so I am learning as I go. I am glad that you enjoyed my work. I like to stop and admire your woodcarvings too, every chance I get.


Leave a Reply

