HAND CARVED WOODEN TABLE

garden-table

she makes a great little table and a nice piece of sculpture,  if I do say so myself.  The table is exactly 2 feet tall. Which is amazing,  considering that I gave very  little thought to exact dimensions when I extracted the section of trunk from the fallen tree.  At the time I had only a desire to make a garden sculpture, with no clear idea of what that would be.   I left it sitting in the yard for a week until inspiration struck, then I forced my concept from it, with a clear purpose and  mallet driven chisels.  The figure stands or should I say kneels at 20 1/2 ” and is carved from a single piece of mulberry trunk.  She would make a fabulous addition to anyone’s patio, flower garden or living room. The carving itself is left with a tooled finish.  The top  has been well sanded and is very smooth. I  have more on the making of this piece in a previous post.

carved-garden-table

profile

backside-of-table

Carving is a game of material removal.

chips

Knowing what to leave in and what to take out.

sunlit-face

It’s a game  I love to play.

3 Responses to “HAND CARVED WOODEN TABLE”


  1. 1 dorisfiebig September 14, 2009 at 5:45 am

    hi matthew,,, oh, just 2 days i did not come looking, and i almost missed this wonderful carving ! wow, i was wondering what you were doing, and now this great table, that is a pleasant surprise. … i love the feeling of the piece, nicely calm, in harmony, and the wood enhances the beauty of the becoming life. …
    i read what you wrote about using green wood, it is similar what was used 500 years ago here in germany. and, it works. but i think it was rather stressful, was it not ? do you think she is now stable, or would you expect cracks to occur ? … i am just curious, in case i ever get hold of such a big nice green wood… doris

    • 2 matthewgrimes September 14, 2009 at 7:23 am

      Hello, Doris. I’m glad that you like her. you are right that it is very stressful, both for the wood and the carver. I was happy that I was able to capture the mood of the woman, contemplating the birth of her child.

      remind me what happened 500 years ago? I’ll bet that Lime wood was very forgiving. it’s funny that you mention 500 years ago in Germany. I was so happy with the delicate little fingers I carved, I told myself that Riemenschneider would be proud. (alright that was 600 yrs ago) Mine are of course big and clunky compared to the ones he carved on his ladies.

      I really don’t know what to expect. I will post an update if something tragic happens. there has been no checking since I finished her several days ago, so that is encouraging. She does have a triple coat of spar varnish on her which should make her okay for outdoor life, but whats going on internally I don’t know.

  2. 3 dorisfiebig September 14, 2009 at 7:58 am

    yes, i meant riemenschneider and stoss and all the great renaissancecarvers. they carved lime, and oak, and did procedure like you to be able to carve green wood. i have seen a lot of riemenschneiders work, and still today, they are great, almost no checking… (yes, is more like 600 years, you are right )…yes, the hands. riemenschneiders hands are same beautiful as his faces. .. hands and faces are what makes a carving, i often think,,,hands and faces set the mood, and the body language accentuates. and, it is not the detail, its the lines, the basic shapes that need be correct, to tell the story. you did wonderful on that…. i wish you good luck, that your effort in stress relieving was successful, and she remains like she is now, a wonderful sentiment…


Leave a Reply

