White rose 2

Another attempt at an old theme.

I have noticed that I have a tendency to push my relief carvings as far as I can.  This time I cut all the way under the stem with my 1.5 mm chisel turning it like a drill bit. I thought a cord could be run through the hole and it could be hung as a necklace or in some ornamental fashion, but due to gravity the rose would be upside down so I see no benefit to this new design.

I did put a nice polish on this one.

2 Responses to “White rose 2”


  1. 1 dorisfiebig June 3, 2010 at 8:23 am

    hello matthew, so nice to see new works from you… i like the new design with the rose, … yes hanging it as a pendant might be difficult, but how about making a little brooche out of it. i think that might look very pretty

  2. 2 matthewgrimes June 4, 2010 at 6:21 am

    Thanks for the nice idea Doris and for taking a look at my carvings.

    I am thinking about making a book filled with watercolor paper and I might cut the back half off of a few tagua carvings and attach them to the spine. That way when the book sits on the bookshelf it would pop out at people a bit. Just another idea, wild and crazy though it may be.


Leave a Reply

