On the River

A fun day on the river turns into a photo op and from there it became several paintings.
I used several different techniques here. The painting in the upper left side was done mostly wet on dry, on 140 lb soft press Fabriano Artistico. For the painting on the right, I tried something new. I masked out the highlights and details and then poured paint onto the paper, cold press Fabriano.

The larger painting was a combination of the two. I did not use masking fluid, but I did pour, throw and spatter paint onto the paper. I used a wet on dry approach for the reflections and ripples in the water, mixing colors on the paper. I carefully painted around the highlights of the boat and figure, but as things spiraled out of control I had to go back in, after the paint dried, to reclaim lost highlights with my trusty pocket knife. The large painting was done on Fabriano rough press, my new favorite surface for many subjects.

0 Responses to “On the River”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

